Getting out of the U.S.

Hello Expats, I am a U.S. Citizen and have been considering getting out of the U.S. for some time. I am a retired Civil Engineer and have a retirement income. Just wondering how things are for Folks from the U.S. In Spain. Not sure at this time where I would like to settle in Spain, I would have to be there for a while to decide that. The obvious challenges are learning the language and getting honest legal advice and setting up an initial living situation. I have also been looking at Slovenia, Uruguay and Portugal.

Moderated by kenjee 7 years ago
Reason : Please drop housing adverts only in HOUSING section above.
We invite you to read the forum code of conduct

Firstly, I would recommend that you contact your Spanish Embassy in the US to enquire what type of visas you would require to either travel temporarily, long-term travel or move totally to Spain. Perhaps it would be a good idea to travel around Spain initially to find out which area you would like to be living in and whilst doing that learn the basics of the language.

On a retirement income, Portugal is more advantageous in general. Also, the tax system may be more in your favor. Plus ... it's a really nice place to be. And you still have easy access to all of Europe. When I lived in Lisbon, no matter where I had traveled to out of the country, anytime I returned I felt an immediate sigh of relief upon re-entering Portugal.

likely there are 2 different visa programs which would fit your needs.  The non lucrative visa or the retirement visa.  neither allow you to work in Spain for the first 5 years.  They are very similar, but the retirement you show you have a monthly income. the other is a lump sum.   I highly recommend a scoping trip to see what you like.  Things look different "on paper" than in real life, plus weather and surrounding make a difference.