Studying. Working.

Hi there, I am currently studying in Mauritius and have a student/residence visa which will expire in 2018, although once I have completed my studies I would like to continue staying in Mauritius and find a job here. Is this possible and if so what actions need to be followed in order to obtain work visas etc. ?

Thanks in Advance,
Sarah

Hello Sarah,

Welcome to Mauritius. I am also a student here (from Kenya) but will be finishing in five months after being here since 2013. Unfortunately, foreign students are no longer allowed to work in Mauritius. The Cabinet passed a decision on 27 March 2015 that barred us from working. They said it was temporary in order to fix the some issues with the permit work permit issuance system. Prior to that we were allowed to work the normal 20 hours a week for students.

Regarding living and working after you finish studying, I think that will be possible after your employer files an application for work permit for you after you are done with studies.

I hope this was helpful. If you need more info you can contact me privately on inbox.

Best

If i recall correctly (from past info I've read), as long as you get an approved job (I assume it will also need to be over 40/60K rupees per month to meet the minimum-foreigner-salary requirement), you will then need to apply for a work-permit, leave Mauritius and then return once it is approved.

In your case, you could return back to S.Africa until it is approved and then come back here, although (some) other expats choose to go to Reunion instead.

Things may be a bit different for you though, as you've been (and still are) a student here. I suggest speaking to the guidance/career counsellor at your university, as they may have a better option for you.

Also, please come back and share the feedback :) It will likely be useful to other students  :top:

Hello Rushikay,