Sprained foot

Hey everyone, I am new to the country and just learned to ride a motor bike but one week into my stay here, I made a stupid mistake and fell off resulting in a badly sprained foot. I cannot walk atm and not even the hospital in ho chi Minh city has crutches. Does anyone know where I could find some?
Any advice is much appreciated!

Lorenzo S.

You better contact Mr. Richard Loo who is a helping guy in this site and lives in HCMC.
His profile;
https://www.expat.com/forum/profile.php … mp;lang=en

I found on another website a question similar to yours and the reply was:

"There are so many surgical supply shops on Tran Hung Dao street, Q.1"

Good luck to you. When I had a sudden severe knee injury in Tanzania last year I used my broom stick (without broom) as a temporary cane until I could buy crutches. It was better than nothing.

Since you are not able to get around much maybe you could also call the FV hospital and see where they recommend you buy it. Ask for the orthopaedic department or the pharmacy. 08 54 11 33 33. They are pretty expensive to visit but I find they give good information in English over the phone for free.

thank you for the info!

Bit late for you, but others may see it.

Make sure you treat any scratches or cuts with a lot of antiseptic, get an X-ray to make sure there isn't a break, then watch any wounds very carefully for any sign of infection.
Check your tetanus jab is up to date (Every five years).

This applies in any country, but much more so in hot countries as the climate is really nice for a nasty bacterium or billion to breed.

Yes very true!

Wrap it in ice and take anti inflammatory such as ibuprofen or naproxen. Give it time and the swelling will subside. Don't put pressure on your foot. Find a homeless guy and borrow or steal his crutches and you will be alright. Stay off the bike since you're a danger to yourself and many others around.