I'm new to the forum so I wanted to say hello to everyone!

Hey guys, I've seen this site a few times when I've done searches for expat communities outside the USA so I thought that I would at least join and see what all information you could share with a complete newbie.

I'm retired ex-military and seriously thinking of moving to Peru or Brazil permanently, but I'm not sure what the process would be beyond getting my passport. No, I've not done a search yet, but I will soon. Hopefully someone else's already asked the questions I'm going to.

What is the process for staying in Brazil or Peru permanently, and maybe even getting a dual citizenship?
How hard is it to purchase agriculture land as a foreigner?
Since I'll be making this move as a single are there credible dating agencies for foreigners seeking a wife from another country?

Thanks
Leon

http://i1320.photobucket.com/albums/u531/wjwoodward/BANNER_zps3602e73e.jpg

Hello Leon,

On behalf of everybody here at Expat-blog, welcome on board. I hope your participation here will be both enjoyable and informative.

While I can't speak for Peru, which I understand from an ex-Marine buddy of mine, is a really nice place to visit I can tell you that Brazil is a great place to if you can adapt to the high crime rate, and follow all of the safety tips to keep yourself out of harm's way. I've been here over 13 years, knock on wood, without incident so far.

You can obtain a VIPER Permanent Visa for Retirement, for yourself and up to 2 dependents here if you've got the ability to transfer into a Brazilian bank account (existing or to be set up) in your name the equivalent of R$2000 (just under USD $700) per month . (Additional dependents R$1000 per month each).

You would be required to provide the following documentation:

Certified copies of your passports (all pages)
Birth Certificates / Marriage Certificates to prove degree of relationship
Clear criminal record check (FBI or State - done by fingerprint check)