Planning to move to Kenya

Hi

I'm a Chartered Accountant from India and am planning to move with my family to Nairobi shortly to join an MNC as Finance Manager. My family consists of my wife (who is also a Chartered Accountant) and a 4-yr old son.
I would like to know what is the best place to live in Nairobi from safety point of view, and also where fellow Indians can be seen & spoken with.
Also does Nairobi has Indian schools where my little chap can study & enjoy his time? Also do the schools have day-boarding facilities for kids?
Do we get necessary foodgrains like rice, wheat and pulses, spices, milk, drinking water easily in Nairobi? Are these things priced very heavily or are available at normal rates as compared to Indian prices? Same about fruits and vegetables?
Can we also watch some Hindi programmes on the cable TV/Dish TV network there, and do some cinema halls also show hindi movies?
Thanks for your answer

Prashant

Welcome to Expat.com, Prashant!
As you have very specific questions, maybe the Network of Indians in Kenya could help?
Cheers
Arlette

Yes, if you want an Indian or Asian dominated area in Nairobi then PARKLANDS is the best for you. Its high class of course and secure.

Anything in form of food is available in Nairobi but the price will depend on where you are doing the shopping. The price of stuff in Nairobi depends normally with which you belong and where you do your shopping. Could be cheap or Expensive.

DSTV (Cable Tv and) will give you the best package for your Hindi channels

Schools are everywhere from private, International to public. You will have to choose which system you want for the chap, There are many schools in Kenya that looks like they are specifically for Indians

Hi Prashant,