Soon to be Expat Just Saying Hello

My name is Jason & I am planning on becoming an expat in the near future. As an avid surfer, Indonesia is my first choice. I work as a Merchant Seaman & travel extensively in my line of work. I am a California native & although my home in Pismo Beach, California is very peaceful, it is also becoming a nuisance dealing with taxes and the cost of living. I am also tired of the "rat race" lifestyle of the US. I am a single man & my daughter is grown & in the US Navy. I have a good income and my career allows me to live anywhere I choose so why not get away from it all right? I currently live in a very "touristy" small classic California beach community & although I tolerate it just fine, I'd rather be away from the tourist types of areas. I am interested in the Bukit Peninsula for the quality of waves but I've never been there. I have read quite a bit in the forums here and I'm sure I will have questions at some point but for now I'd just like to say hello and welcome any input on somewhere peaceful and laid back to live, close to some good surf and not over-priced. I would prefer to be a part of a smallish, tight-knit community where everyone looks out for each other and my home will be safe while I am away at work. Thanks in advance and I'm stoked to be here ;o)

Hi Jason !

Welcome to Expat.com!

Armand

Thanks Armand! How's the surf in Mauritius? I've seen your island on "On Surfari" looked pretty good bro!

welcome to indonesia :-)

Halo Jason :)

Welcome to Indonesia and EB soon then :D
You will enjoy Indonesia much :)

Greets,
Debby

Hello Jason,

Welcome to Expat.com!

Need anything, Im gladly to help :)

Enjoy Indonesia!

Sherly