Considering Sihanoukville

Hi
I have little knowledge of Sihanoukville. I've been only to Phnom Penh and Siam Reap. I have been to Thailand (all over) many times, often Pattaya. I understand that Sihanoukville is a more genteel, relaxed Pattaya. There is a night life (with similar girly bars) but on a much smaller scale, more friendly and near great beaches and without the aggressive, unpleasant tourists (especially Russians)that flood into Pattaya.
Am I correct? I am looking for winter retirement (or more permanent), starting this winter. I will be based in Pattaya for the first part, but will be exploring Sihanoukville in November.
I hope I will find answers on this forum:D

Hi motoguzzibob!

Welcome to Expat.com!

Armand

Thanks for the welcome, Armand.
Do you have a general reply to my questions? Or is it best just search the site?
Thanks

I don't know about this destination but a little more patience, i'm sure the other members in this area might help you ;)

Good luck
Armand

Hi....
If you are seeking for a place with a nightlife,  go to Phnom - Phen. .. not Sihanoukville!
Only few hours by car. ... less than 10 $ by bus to reach Sihanoukville from Phnom - Phen. So you can enjoy the nightlife of phnom penh and heading to Sihanoukville for weekends.
You have some bars too in Sihanoukville. ... but nothing compares to Phnom - Phen. .. and very far from the ones of Pattaya.

boycott for tourists in Cambodia that tourists come on Sunday two guys on a motorcycle when docked to a German labor came, riding his bike to the tyranny agararon casa.Le bag and dragged several meters, is entered severe in Bangkok, with multiple fractures, and the police is not doing anything. we are tired of so many robberies, and every day more .... Boycott all tourist vengaissss not until this is resolved, we are tired being robbed and above have to pay the police to investigate ... publish it in all languages ​​and in all the web pag.....