Salery information

Hi. I'm a English welder that can do all types of engineering I have all my papers what sort of salery shud I expect in thailand

Minimum wage is 300 baht per day.
But I believe that due to the housing boom professionals in any trade (welding, tiling, carpenters, etc) can get up to 1,000 baht per day (short-term contracts).

Hi Brett,
Sorry, but you're not likely to find employment in Thailand. The reason is the ethnic population aren't short of welders or other trades. The minimum wage Bobby quotes is for Thai nationals.

Yeah I would like to know to the standard salary for the foreigner in thai.

Lets say a call center agent or phone sales

There are the occasional commission based sales jobs that crop up for foreigners occasionally, but these are usually in the property market that collapsed years ago. If you were to obtain one of these your monthly salary would be in the region of 20 to 30k THB a month, plus a usually unobtainable commission.

Generally, everyone is now trying to sell and that applies to everything; cars, property etc., and no one is buying – a story all too familiar also in the west? The only industry still active is teaching, but even in this salaries are plummeting and I've seen full time teaching work advertised as low as 15 and 20k a month, with the average at 30k.

Sales based call centres to sell to whom; foreign pensioners and low paid teachers?

I'm not trying to put people off, but simply pointing out that you need to have a skill that is in demand here, not just in your own country. Having been a factory worker or a shop sales assistant in your own country is of absolutely no value here. Factor into every job your visa costs, increased medical insurance, acceptable western type accommodation . . . . . and my opinion is that you need 40k a month just to keep pace with the increased cost of living.

There is also a recession here; granted nowhere near that of the west, but you can feel it throughout Asia.