My Experience in Sudan

Hello,
I will say that I came here on April 6th and I pray to God that I can leave on June 30th. My experience here has not been a very good one. I am an ESL teacher brought here to start a new International School in Port Sudan. I love the kids, the parents, the people I work with and really don't hate Sudan at all. Yes, it's hot, but everywhere has something that can't be helped. The main problem I have is the people I work for. They pay the Sudanese workers faithfully, with thanks written on the envelope; they are never late giving them their money. I, on the other hand, the Head Mistress and "prize" foreign teacher they are putting in front of the parents, have YET to be paid my money. There is always a reason why I can't be paid. They kept my passport for 2 months saying it was necessary for the work visa and I have to get their permission to get an exit visa to leave the country for summer vacation. All the homes here have a backup generator, but I live at the school, and they REFUSE to get one for here. So, when the electricity goes out every day more than it's on, I lose all the food in the fridge and sleep in the heat with mosquitoes buzzing in around the holes where the air conditioner should be running. I have never been so disrespected in my life. No, I don't hold all this against Sudan; I consider the source. But the happiest day of my life will be when I get out of here and back to the REAL world instead of being held hostage in hell!

I am sorry you had to endure all this. :(

Believe it or not, I am going to Egypt to work where I worked before as soon as I can get out of here. Egypt's not perfect, by any means, but I never had to beg for the money I already earned. Yes, the electricity goes off sometimes, but it's back in a few hours too. Alex here I come... in shaa ALLAH!

If it is not an intrusive question, may I ask why would they withhold your payment? what reasons did they give????