Moving to the Maldives

Hello everyone,

I wondered if anyone had any thoughts about the idea of me, a British national, moving to live and work in the Maldives. The reason for this move from London is the desire for a complete change of environment. I love the Maldives, love the sea. My profession is Human Resources in hospitality, and figured it would not be too difficult getting a job as are loads of hotels and resorts there.

I'm originally from SE Asia, but have lived in UK for 25 years, so thought it might might be wonderful going back to the area as an ex-pat.

I'd need to do  lot of research on accommodation, work visas, etc, so any sort of information on my prospective move would be much appreciated. I have not started applying for jobs in the Maldives yet, but figured it might be easier if I'm actually in the country. Happy to try to learn the official language, Dhivehi if that will bump up my job prospects.

The position I will be seeking is one of managerial position in Human Resources for a hotel or resort.  My initial thoughts were to sort out a flat first (1 bedroom flat) probably in Male with good internet connection, then start in my earnest in my job hunt. Once I secure a job, I may need to move to the resort which is ideal. I hope the employer will also obtain a work visa for me. Or is this something I should obtain before I arrive?

Would really appreciate advice, opinions, suggestions, comments of any sort.

Lastly, I was thinking of moving in about 3-4 weeks time, early November.

Babli

Hi babli,

i am Honored to me at your service :)

Firstly its not difficult getting a HR jobs in maldives, we have plenty of resort coming up in the next few months to-years and they HR managers/directors are the first they recruit.

coming to Maldives without a job is probably not the best idea as the cost of living in male is quite high..it might not be as high as living in london, but pretty close.