The work culture in the Netherlands

Hello everyone,

As an expatriate, working in the Netherlands can present unique opportunities but also challenges. Discovering new communication styles, adapting to new cultural norms... working in the Netherlands can be both exciting and confusing.

Share your experience to better understand the work culture in the Netherlands and facilitate the professional adaptation of people who are wondering about it.

How would you define the work culture in the Netherlands?

What was the most difficult thing for you when you started working?

What made the biggest impression on you?

How did you fit into your team?

Thank you for your contribution.

Mickael
Expat.com team

I've been working since 2015 in NL and have changed so far 4 companies, startup, scaleups and big corpo, also worked both as employee and freelancer. Generally feeling is that dutch are very competitive, you have here the culture of silicon valley with overtimes, burnouts and all 9 yards except for high pay and stocks. The non-dutch scene is catching up tho if you read people like Gergley Orosz  you will find that there are a lot of companies that pay 2-3x the salary of median dutch companies, but they also expect you to have even more lack of life outside of work in exchange which is generally ok for most silicon valley companies. Every single person so far I've talked to who stated otherwise, is either extremely  naturally gifted and manages to really work 8 hours or is slaving away without rest full working days and evenings and weekends while virtue signalling to the choire. There are a lot of predatory employers who will try to squeeze every cent out of you and will mess with the contract terms to get all the juice out of you while keeping you on slave conditions. Happened to me multiple times, happened to a lot of people I know personally. So you need to be prepared to fight back and stand your ground, fortunately dutch laws are mostly on your side, but lawyers a