Future retirement

My wife and I are considering retiring to Portugal in a few years.  I am a teacher and my wife is a public health nurse currently living in Nova Scotia.  We would hope to find someplace small and economical (perhaps two bedrooms if guests come).  We would hope to have some English-speaking contacts close by.  We would also like to be close to water.  It's hard to figure things out from a distance whether or not the Porto region is best, but we are looking for advice.

What are the thoughts regarding renting vs. buying?
What would be a good location as a base for traveling around Europe?

Maybe best weather is on the South coast - Algarve.  Plenty of property near or even on the beach.  Of course, consider the taxation issues if purchasing.  Nonetheless , it may be prudent to rent short term to allow you to make a more informed and rational long term decision.

Thank-you.  I'll look into it.