Any suggestions for 2 month-long rental in HCMC?

I will be starting a summer internship in HCMC soon, for the duration of 2 months. I was looking for a small apartment or a studio, with a private bathroom, strong wi-fi connection, air conditioning, fridge, and likely kitchen and laundry. Ideal location would be either D1 or D3. Is USD400~550 a right range of price?

I was trying to find a place via online, but would it be best if I go to HCMC and see the places with my own eyes? Do people usually sign contracts for that kind of medium-term rentals? Tried to find out more info on the web myself but it seems like everyone on personal blogs is contradicting each other.... It's my first time in Vietnam and would appreciate any advice!

Thanks a lot.

There are fully serviced apartments, particularly in downtown, but you will pay a premium particularly for a stay as short as 2 months.  You might consider a mid-price hotel as they may be amenable to a substantial discount over the daily rates.  You won't have a kitchen but restaurant food and even more so street food is cheap in Vietnam.  Besides, you won't be changing the sheets.  They can also handle your laundry for what will seem like a reasonable price.  No particular recommendations except the obvious negatives like the Rex, Continental or the other big names in Ben Nghe ward near the foreign consulates.  D3 should have more appropriately priced places.

Moderated by Bhavna 6 years ago
Reason : Please drop an advert in the housing section.
We invite you to read the forum code of conduct

I suggest you book an airbnb for one night in the area you'd like to stay and then call one of the rental agencies to help them find for you and set appointments for you to view your shortlist of  apartments.  You can find the rental agencies by google.   D1 is always ideal especially if you're working in D1.

Is the OP's target of $400-550 realistic for such a short term in D1?