German Language Requirement for Skilled worker

Good day to everyone

*I hope this is not a duplicate post, i have searched the forums to make sure it inst but may have missed something*

SOME BACKGROUND

Work and Studies
I work in the automotive automation industry all over USA and South Africa. I have a national diploma in IT (3 years) of study from a university in South Africa that Germany classifies as H+, which is good, in equivalency to their standards.

Firstly i am not sure should i apply for Blue card or skilled worker with vocational training as a degree in my country is considered to be 4 years worth of studies.
I have been in my profession for a couple of years , 4 years post studies and about 3 years before my studies.

Job Offer

A German company that i have worked with locally in South Africa has offered me permanent employment in Gelsenkirchen, Germany. Covid-19 interfered with those plans, but luckily the offer is back up on the table. The offer is €3200 before taxes.

My wife is in the catering management, chef, hospitality industry with 4 years worth of vocational training but she has no job offer. Plan is for me to go over and then get her over on a spousal visa hopefully.We also have a newborn on the way.

Reasons for Leaving and the rush to get out

The tension in South Africa is also getting high and at the moment i am sitting in the USA, my wife back in South Africa. We are all concerned about our safety etc, this discussion can go on forever.
Upon my return to SA i plan on getting our appointments sorted and hopefully get through it with ease.

OKAY SO FINALLY TO MY QUESTION

For the blue card visa I believe I need no German language certification if I'm not mistaken but my spouse will need at least A1 level.

If i apply for the skilled worker visa with vocational training, rather than the blue card visa, do i myself need German language certification before i can apply? That is what is not clear to me?

NOTE: