USA to England, how!?

Hello,

So I am looking to move to England. I met the love of my life in England, and am ready to move! We are not yet engaged but do plan on it, so we are trying to decide what is the best way for me to come over. We chose me to move because of his career and uni. So I will be giving up my career for a period of time. I have my Bachelor's in Accounting, but assuming I am unable to work until we are married at the very least. Does anyone have any tips on how I can make money not being married yet? I have looked into getting a work visa but seems to be a lengthy and tough process. Does anyone have any other ideas?

Thank you!

Hi and welcome to the Forum.

Not easy, but doable; you could be forgiven that the UK is being particularly nasty to US citizens, but they are equally as nasty to everyone else, so don't take it personally.

Once you are in the country and have a residence permit then you can work (the 2 are directly linked, you can't enter the UK to live unless you have a residence permit), if you are here, then there are no restrictions because you are not married.

In fact, accountancy skills are always in demand; if you have Chartered status, there are companies that will bite their hand off to recruit you and you could even qualify for a skilled migrant visa in your own right; this link will take you to a section of the Forum that describes these; so that is something to consider.

The other method you can use is to apply for a family visa; the UK Gov website has the details about this; this link will take you there.

My advice is to check out the links I've given; also consider whether you should go back to college first and get Chartered status (if you don't already have it).  If you have any further specific questions, then please come back to us.

Cynic
Expat Team

Hello,thanks for your reply!