Can I start a biz from scratch and work in it with "investor" status?

Hello all,
Had the liberating experience a few weeks back by realizing I don't need to stay in the house I built in the states until I take a dirt nap. Started "planning" a new chapter, and here I am. We are visiting CR in the spring for the first time. 2 weeks, plan on seeing the pacific side. I am one of those folks that needs something to do (my wife would whole heartedly agree) every day, so were trying to utilize the trip to sort out if we want to/can, live/work in CR. We have traveled a decent amount so were not complete noobs.

My question is this. Specifically I am interested in operating an air taxi/charter biz with a small 6 place twin engine plane. It would meet the minimum investment threshold by itself. It looks like a "legal" business and straight forward as far as permits (I think). I would probably employ a couple of locals part time for various things but would pilot myself.

Anyone out there know if this idea will fly? ;)

Thanks - Sam

I would suggest you get up to date information from a lawyer.

Thanks - Any trustworthy referrals you may have?

No, unfortunately I can't recommend one for you.

I know that getting residency  on Investor status based on starting a new business is often very 'complicated'...and that you must have a very detailed business plan to present to immigration.

Outlier Legal offers this info;

"Investment Options"
New Business. Investment Amount: $200,000

"This category is available for people who will invest in a new business. Whether it is a hotel, a restaurant, a factory, a service company, or any other business, you will qualify for this category as long as you invest at least $200,000 USD.
This category requires to set up a business plan. This category is rarely used as very few people are able to comply with all of the requirements."

sambo77 wrote:

Thanks - Any trustworthy referrals you may have?

Hola Sambo77,

Welcome to Expat.com!