Do all expats fit in one of three categories?

It seems to me that pretty much everyone fits in one of three groups, and I'm not in one of those groups.  So it's hard to imagine being able to relocate. Anyway, the three groups of people are: 1) retired, 2) wealthy with outside business interests, and 3) young with no kids and able to live anywhere on any budget. 
I'm still trying to figure out how to get a job there that pays a reasonable salary for a family to live on.  I was hoping that teaching jobs might do the trick, since the private schools can sponsor a work permit.  But I keep hearing they pay something like $1000 per month.  Ouch.  Any other thoughts on good jobs?

I'm no expert, but my husband and I have been doing a lot of research prior to our relocation to CR, and it's my understanding that $1000 a month IS a lot of money by Costa Rican standards.  I've been told that the average median salary by a CR citizen is $900 per month. 

Now please don't rely on this info, it's just something I've read by searching online. You can do a google search on the average income of the country, that's where I found this information.

Good luck with your research.

Yeah, I guess I should have said a little more.  I'm sure you're correct about the average salary.  But to support a wife and child, and maybe another coming at some point... plus being able to fly back to the U.S. maybe once a year... It starts to add up quickly.  I think somewhere in the $1500-$2000 per month range would work, but for me I think $1000 would not be enough.

Keep in mind that for almost all jobs you must have your permanent residency.  There are a few exceptions.