Anyone with a self-employed visa?

This seems to be the best call for me and I would like to read about other people's experiences with that.

I am a comic book artist and wouldn't be competing directly on the German job market since I get my offers from all over the world. In addition to that, I am also an art teacher and am considering the possibility of giving painting and comic book crafting classes over there.

As a freelancer, it is theoretically easier to get a visa since like you say; you are not necessarily taking someone's job. Also, as an artist one can claim that what they do is unique. But it is of course difficult for many to try to survive as a freelancer. Because of this, before giving permission, they are going to want documentation about what you do. If you can show you have lots of professional experience and your skills are demanded and profitable and can be done in Germany as well, then you should get a visa.

For beginners or someone wanting to try a new profession it is difficult. What they don't want is that foreigners come and don't manage to make enough to live from. As far as performing artists go, I think the initial visa is maximum 2 years and minimum 6 months. It then has to be renewed when it runs out. If one makes too little money then it won't get renewed. Even being successful is not a guarantee however of renewal or for how long. It is possible one is in Germany for some years and then instead of getting a long visa, they only get one for 6 months or not at all. The decisions will be made in a city office where you live in Germany.

Here is also a site in English with information about the process of getting a freelance visa (lots of such information online if one just Googles it):
https://www.sympat.me/steps-getting-fre … t-germany/

Most importantly here is the official German Government site with the requirements for all visa types. The link is to the English version page but they have many other languages including Portuguese: