Will I pay PR tax on my NJ pension in addition to the federal payment?

Hello all,

I am new to the forum and am planning a full move to the southwest side of the island by 2020.  Though I was born in NJ and lived here my entire life, I have family and many connections to that part of the island.  I've traveled there frequently throughout my life.  I'm researching to realize whether I would end up paying 24% federal (that's my bracket) and in addition be required to pay 30% PR tax?  I'm studying up on Act 22 but I believe that this would only affect income that I may produce as a result of opening a business on the island.  I am also wondering if my 403b would end up with the same ramifications mentioned above.  All experienced responses would be greatly appreciated.

Gracias.

Nope just Federal.
You only pay PR tax on money you make in the island as from a job, a business or PR rental property. Your Social Security when you get it only pays Federal also.

Check with a PR accountant to be on the safe side.

No, you will not pay Puerto Rico tax from a pension earned in New Jersey. For Act 20/22 you should get advice from an expert. There are folks in my neighborhood who do this. As you wish, I can pass along the name of a consultant.

Your 403b pays only Federal if you are a resident of PR. If you have facebook you may want to join the group about act 20/22. https://www.facebook.com/groups/PuertoRicoJobsBoard/ they can answer many questions about both of those acts and also put you in contact with people that does the paperwork.

Hey Rey... great job with this forum.  Thanks for the response.  I spoke to an accountant and an attorney and was informed that I would pay the 30% PR tax and receive credit for the 24% federal tax.  I will continue to search for the correct information.

Thanks for the response. I would appreciate the name of the consultant. Thank you.

theclavekid79 wrote: