Spanish Driver License

Hi,
We are considering moving to Barcelona and have California driver licenses. Do any of you know what the process is for getting a Spanish license? Is it automatic or do we need to go thru the whole process of written and behind-the-wheel tests?
Thanks,
Jorge

Unless things have changed very recently, there is no treaty or agreement to validate your California licence in Spain. I believe that you can use an international tourist driver's license for the first 6 months you are here, but if you buy a car you will need to find out if the insurance is valid for an owner with a tourist license. I am presently studying for my Spanish driver's license by taking practice tests online on the todotest site (permiso B). The tests aren't easy and a score of 90% is required to pass. The laws here are much more complex than when I got my license at 15 years old in the US (I am 66). The driving test is also difficult and one of my Spanish family members has failed it twice. You will need to sign up for lessons as taking the test requires using a drivers instruction car with two sets of pedals. Having a car in a large city can be pain as finding a parking place can be difficult. However, I have lived in Barcelona, Valencia, and Alicante off and on for 22 years without a license, and am only now getting one because my wife has poor night vision.

the USA has 50 states, each with a different license, so no reciprocation in Spain.  You need to go through the entire process.  We have an ebook on driving in Spain which details it all out, but I am sure you can piece things together through internet searches as well.  Good luck, and make note that is is time consuming and expensive too.  :-)