American citizen applying for a work permit in Vietnam

Hi all,

I came to Vietnam on a 1 year business visa and have been residing here for nearly 1 year now. The Vietnamese company I have been dealing with has asked me to join their company. Now I am looking into applying for a work permit, but need help from anyone who can help guide me based on their previous experience.

This company does not have much experience hiring foreign employees, so they are utilizing an outside service to help, but the information being provided by the outside service is unclear and inconsistent. So need the experts here to guide me. Below are some of the questions I have:

- Criminal background check: We were informed that since I have been residing here in Vietnam for over 6 months, I do not need to obtain a background check from USA. Instead, I can obtain a criminal background check from the local police station in which my landlord registered me in. Correct?

- University certificate: It's been a while since I have graduated and not sure where I placed my diploma. I have contacted my university and asked for a duplicate, but the processing time is too long. I have asked the service if we I can provide an official transcript of my courses, but they informed me that they can only accept a diploma. Correct?

- Health/Physical check: Checkup must be done only at government assigned locations?

- Visa: Apply for a DN visa?

I am trying to get all correct documents and apply before I leave Vietnam. This way all will be ready upon my return. Any advice is much appreciated. Cam on.

cm1204 wrote:

- Criminal background check: We were informed that since I have been residing here in Vietnam for over 6 months, I do not need to obtain a background check from USA. Instead, I can obtain a criminal background check from the local police station in which my landlord registered me in. Correct?

Yes, it's correct. You need a police clearance from the Vietnamese authorities.