Commuting Birmingham - Reading

Hi all,

I am Dutch person and  will be starting a new job in the Reading area soon. My partner lives in Birmingham. I would like to be move in with her, which would mean commuting every day. I have been looking it up, and it seems to be just about doable (a little bit under 2 hours one day).

I would to ask your collective wisdom whether this is a horrible idea or not (with your experience in commuting in the UK), or if I am underestimating the time it would take.

Additionally, as I have no experience with buying cars in the UK, I was wondering if there are any pecularities I should pay particular attention to when buying a car. I think I would be looking for a reliable new-ish 2nd hand diesel car, any tips where to start?

Thanks!

Good Luck with commuting between Birmingham & Reading Long-Term.  Thinking it's too far.
We are Aussies who enjoy visiting friends in Birmingham and them us; however, couldn't imagine doing it on a Long-Term basis unless it 'twas by train Mate!   But that's way too expensive to be viable via the Rail.  Trains are on Strike so often lately it's become a unreliable form of transport for commuters. There's a new line currently being built to be completed Summer, 2017.  Direct Line from Reading into City of London :).
Besides theirs a lot of congestion on the M40 & A34.  Especially near Oxford. 

It has consistently taken 2 hours on a weekend. So try 2.1/2 - 3 hours plus on weekdays. 
Sorry to be the bearer of bad news :(   I'd suggest you find a pad in Reading for your workdays and Birmingham other times.  Unless you have a job where you can Telecommute; with a day or 2 working days in the Office each week.  Then maybe you could commute in on a Monday or Tuesday plus a Thursday weekly???    We've lived in a Reading area 6 months in September.  Cardiff, Wales 12 months B4 and Washington DC, USA for 15 years B4.  We Relocated overseas from Sydney, Australia in July, 2001.  :).