Thinking about living and studying in Prague

Hello! I am new to these forums and I have a question for all of you Prague expats!

I am a US citizen with UK citizenship through my mother. I have a passport from both countries. My boyfriend was recently transferred to Prague (where he's from) for work and he's asked me if I would move there with him in a few months. I am definitely ready for this but I have a few questions about living and working in Prague.

I am a student here in the states and would be able to do my classes online from Prague. 1st question: as my classes are online I will need access to the internet - are there libraries and coffee shops like here in the US where I can use the internet to do my work? We should have internet at home, but I will want to get out of the house to do some of the work! :-)

Also, I am a CNA (certified nursing assistant) and have worked in a hospital for 3 years. Would this US certification mean anything in CZ? I only speak about 75 words in Czech so far, so I am by NO means anything near bi-lingual which seems like it would be slightly important in a clinical setting in Czech!! ;-) I don't really have much else on my resume - I am going to be done with my bachelors in communications in Dec 2011 - except childcare that I've done over the years. Does anyone have any suggestions about finding a job? I'm not too particular about it or that concerned about the amount I earn - I just will need to be earning something while I'm there. Also, I assume that because I have a British passport, I would not need a visa?

Thank you all so much!! I really enjoy reading your stories from around Prague and the world! I appreciate any help anyone can provide :-)

Sarah

Welcome to the forum Sarah :)

Hi Sarah,