Premature Termination from work without written notice

Hi everyone!

This is my first time to join here in the forum. So I hope I can get legal advise from you.

I came from the Philippines to work here as a nurse in one of the Pediatric clinics here in Bahrain. I am single, the only girl and youngest of the family.

I've worked for almost 2 years: 1 year, 8 months and 22 days to be exact.

This is the scenario:

I have applied for mobility last January 2016,  6 months prior to the end of 2 years visa. As written in the contract, which is an OPEN CONTRACT, I can render my resignation thru registered post 6 months prior the expiry of the contract. And so I did. I resigned for the reason that I will do surgery in the Philippines because I am alone here, no relatives to look over my condition post-op.

From February onwards, my employer, Managing Directress, and the Accounts' Manager kept on pressurizing me, threatening, blackmailing, and even doubted my credibility as a nurse. They kept on insisting that the OPEN CONTRACT is a 5 years period. I basically disagree about this because way back 2013 when my employer hired me, we agreed that I will work for them 2 years only. The POEA (Philippine Overseas Employment Administration) approved my working duration as for 2 years only.

I was threatened when they told me that they will use their full force so I will be blacklisted here in Bahrain. That my license as a nurse will be revoked. That my reference letter will be drastic, so I won't be able to show to my next employer. They gave me 150 Bahraini dinars, which should be 200 Bahraini dinars as commended by POEA, and they told me to pay them 2, 000 Bahraini dinars for breaking the 5 years contract.