Where are the swimming pools? How are the swimming pools? Cost?

Well in the States, many of us are used to a swimming pool being available to us at a relatively low cost. Whether we are lap swimmers, water aerobics people or occasional bathers. Twenty-five yards long pools are common which is about half the distance of the 50 meter pools used in the Olympics.

There are pools in EC. Loja has a pool for lap swimming and some good swimmers there. What about Vilca? Cotachi?

Exclude hotel pools unless residents can use them.

Are there pools on the coast or the ocean is it?

In the coastal city of Manta, you can rent a two-bedroom apartment with both a swimming pool and an ocean view for about $500 per month.  Source:  the Viva Tropical website.

In Quito, one hotel -- Hotel Quito -- offers day passes for residents for its enormous outdoor hotel-pool / large jacuzzi / spa area.

I have been swimming for two years at one of the many indoor pools in Quito where the escolares swim during morning classes and certain hours are set aside on weekdays for public use of the pool.  Admission:  $4 a day at Academía de Natación Valencia, at Río Frío y Venezuela.

cccmedia, Quito

Hi,

In your post, you mentioned "one of many indoor pools in Quito." I'm here for a month and am having great difficulty finding a single one. When I ask locals, they tell me they don't know. Can you please tell me at least a few of the pools and their cross streets? I'm in the Mariscal Sucre area.

Thank you!
Liz

If you do a search for "quito piscinas natacion"  you will get a number of hits:

https://duckduckgo.com/?q=quito+piscina … amp;ia=web

Among them an article in the Quito newspaper El Comercio with descriptions of several:

http://www.elcomercio.com/actualidad/qu … iudad.html

As a boy in Quito the only game in town for me was the pool at Hotel Quito, but you have many more choices now.