Is it worth a try?

Hello.
I have just relocated from the Hanoi section of this forum in order to get opinions from those living in HCMC.
As I stated in my topic, 'Too old?' in the Hanoi section, I am an English teacher with a degree and a TEFL certificate. I am 51 years old and have been teaching for most of the past 10 years.
Last week I was in Hanoi seeking work. I walked around the city with a bag of CVs, hoping to find language schools to ask for Head of Studies, hand over my CV and ask for a job. This method has worked perfectly for me in Europe.
But I didn't find any, so I contacted some by telephone. They said I should send my CV by e-mail and await a reply, even though I was in Hanoi at the time.
I had one request to come in to a school, but, unless I totally misread the situation, they seemed surprised at how old I am and after a cursory interview, said goodbye.
I am considering coming to HCMC to look for work, but will I have the same result as in Hanoi?
Or...I could stay in Europe where my cold-calling attempts pay dividends.
Any thoughts?

I'm 54 , I work at a private school , public school and language centre . I frequently knock back work because I'm too busy  .  Best to be on the ground here . Join The groups related to teaching , whilst this forum has some jobs , it's nothing like what's available on the other groups

As I have said elsewhere on here, I am not an English teacher, but there isn't a week goes by without I get asked to teach English. So I gather from that, there is plenty of scope for qualified teachers. I don't think age matters either.

I take your point, Matt. When I'm established in HCMC, work is likely to come my way.
However, I would like to have a job lined up before I arrive, and stay in a cheap hotel, so that I can then look for better accomodation and begin to be established.
I'm building up a list of language schools, which I will visit, CV in hand, when I have a trip to HCMC within the next few months.