I am planning on moving to D.R and I need help....

Hello everyone, I found this website after months of searching things on the internet about D.R (Santo  Domingo).  Before I start asking questions I want  to thank everyone especially "Bob K and Planner"  for their amazing job by trying to help us newbies out. In my opinion, you guys are THE BEST and this website is exactly what I've been searching for. Now be patient with me because I have a bunch of questions.... lol.                   

You guys ready?  okay, let me introduce myself. My name  is Ketty, I live in Florida with my parents, I am a student,  and I am 20 years  old. 

I have never been to D.R but I am  planning on moving to Santo  Domingo area by myself at the end  of April or beginning of May of this year. I don't speak Spanish but I am not worry  about it because I am  young ( well... not that young) but what I was  trying to say is I will do my  best to learn it as fast and best as possible (Yup... I am a positive thinker).
I don't  have a date set up yet but I know for a fact  that I am moving and I going to Unibe. I would like to find an unfinished studio or one bedroom apartment  for $300 or less since I am going to depend on my parents to pay for it.

Now buckle up because like I mentioned earlier, I have lots of questions:
1) what  is the affordable  and safe hotel near Unibe?
2) do you guys know any website where I can look for unfinished studio or apartment?

3) I really don't want to spend  lots of money  on hotel, how long it might take me to find a house?

4) what is the safest area to live? I don't mind living far from Unibe as long as the distance is not an hour on bus or taxi since I will not have a car.

5) where can I buy affordable furniture? all I need is a roof over my head, a comfortable bed, a table, tv and cooking essentials. I was thinking about buying them from U.S. and ship them. Is  it a good idea? If so, any idea shipping company in mind?