Work Permit and Qualification?

Hi, my name is Caroline Thee and i'm from Shenzen China.
I'm considering to work for a newly setup company in Malaysia where the boss is my boyfriend.
I would like to know what kind of qualification is needed?
And how's the procedure?

Thanks for help!

You would need to be 27 years old and 23 if you are qualified and going to work in IT. You will need a university degree and 2-3 years work experience. These are the standard requirements to get a work permit in Malaysia. Minimum salary you must be offered in the contract of employment is RM5k per month.

Hi Gravitas, I'm older than 27 and has about 7-8 years working experience. I'm currently working as marketing and customer service manager in an IT company in Shenzhen. I completed my degree in a China's university.
I guess I'm qualified?

Thanks for the information.

Yes, you are qualified. if you are appointed as director is better and easier.I can assist in the work permit application

That sounds good. The only other point I forgot to mention is that your bf's company has to have a certain level of paid up capital or authorized capital.  I am not sure of the amount. It could be as low as RM250,000 but it could also be as high as RM400,000 - but I am really not sure.  Hopefully Yusof will be able to confirm the amount required to hire foreign staff.

Paid up capital min RM 350,000 will qualify to apply the work permit.

Yusof - I dont think you are right.  That figure is for a company that is owned 51% by a Malaysian and 49% by a foreigner of which the both parties are Directors. 

For a 100% locally owned company there are completely different rules I believe and it will depend on what type of company the bf owns and how it is incorporated whether he can get an Employment Pass for Theedi.