Visa, Marriage and Passport

I am a UK citizen and have a Thai girlfriend in Korat. She wants to come to England when it can be arranged and we will get married. I want advice on how to go about this at the present time, May 2010. First, can she come to England on a tourist visa and how difficult are they to obtain in Thailand?  If we get married in England can her tourist visa be extended so she can remain in the UK as my wife?  How long does it normally take for wives to obtain a British passport?  This is my first attempt to find out about what are probably complex rules on this matter and I would be grateful for advice from others who have actually been there and got the tee shirt!

Hi I'm new to this blog but I'm hoping to see some people leave advice for you. I am American and have a British boyfriend. We discussed marriage as a possible way for me to stay in the UK but hate to have to rush into it, feels very unromantic. We're trying to start a tour business in the UK.
I hope you get what you are looking for,
Mary

I realize this post is quite old, but since its been rehashed, here's the info for anyone else who may have the same questions:

In order to obtain a tourist visa, she must prove that she has ties to Thailand and plans to go back to Thailand.  You CANNOT get married on a tourist visa, nor can tourist visas be turned into any other kind of visa.  No matter what, she will have to leave at the end of her allowed time on the tourist visa.

In order to do this legally, your fiance will need to apply for a fiance visa and then marry in the UK or you will need to marry in Thailand (or anywhere else that will allow you to marry) and then apply for a spouse visa for the UK.

Processing times will vary depending on the visa type.

Blog: beyondthequeen.blogspot.com

Hello there,