Permanent Residency Brazil

Hello,

This is the first time I have replied to one of these topics, but I am somewhat in the same position.
I have been an expat for 3 years now. I lived and worked in Brazil for 15 months, where I married my Brasilian husband. I have the Brazilian drivers license, CPF and my previous RNE. I am still a bit new to the bureaucracy of Brazil, but after we married I had to leave for China to work for one year. Now I am ready to go back to be with my husband. I have not been back in Canada for 3 years, and am considered a non-resident. The Brazil embassy in Beijing has informed me I can apply in China.
I was wondering if you might be able to tell me the best way of going about this. Is it possible to enter Brazil on a tourist visa, and go to the Federal Police and apply for a permanent visa? Would this allow me to continue my work with the same company right away? I have a commitment, but am a bit unsure of the what I am allowed to do.
Before my company had handled all the paperwork, now it has been put up to my husband and I. We struggled alone on getting married the first time when I was living their before, but eventually accomplished that. Now I am trying to make the best plan of action for the VIPER - Family Reunion visa.  If you happen to have any information, advice, websites or answers to the above questions. It would be most helpful. I have been reading yours replies for awhile on others posts, and you seem to have a pretty good view on things.

At this point I am a mess trying to juggle everything I need to do, and just need a bit of guidance.

Thank you,
Erin May

Hi Erin May,

If you were married in Brazil then yes you can enter Brazil on a tourist visa and apply for your VIPER here, but once you've made the application you are only permitted to be outside the country for periods up to 90 days at a time until the process is completed, then it becomes 2 years.