Newbie here!... Wife and I planning Philippine retirement...

I'm American, wife is Filipina from provincial Cebu.  Married in 75 while I was in the Air Force, got out after 4 years and moved to Cagayan de Oro and became a fisherman.  Did that for about 14 months than started school under the GI bill.  Had 2 kids.  Moved to Dumaguete to continue schooling in Anthropology and Psychology.  Returned to the states and got into the computer field where I have been since returning.  Our plans have always been to return to the P.I.  Getting closer now and it is becoming real.  We know it has changed very much since we lived there last and being of a 'not so spontaneous' age, we are attempting to get information that will help us plan.  Our intention is to keep it simple.  We are not in a finacial position where we can expect many luxuries, even over there, but should be able to get by.  Am new to this site so haven't had time to gleen all the wisdom on it.  Would be open to any advice you may have for us. I am curious as to how finances are handled between the US and P.I., and is anyone is in western Cebu,if you know of community projects that may need a volunteer.  Anyway, that is a bit about me and our plans.  Looking forward to building some relationships.  Blessings!

It is good that you are looking forward to volunteering once you get back to the Philippines.  I am sure there are many things you can share with the Filipinos that you can draw from your work and life experiences. 

I cam across three websites that may give you a bit of information http://cdn.ph/photostore/gallery.php?gid=59http://globalnation.inquirer.net/cebuda … ids-begins
and
http://www.volunteerabroad.com/search/philippines

I am partial suggesting that you find the Gawad Kalinga project in Cebu.  This is one organization that is well meaning and truly do a good job at it.  My family helps support the education of one Kid via GK. 

I hope this helps.