Moving to Riyadh - practical questions

Hi, I'm a newbie in this forum.

I'm moving to SA for a few months, and I've been reading these threads to get info about living in SA, and especially in Riyadh, where I'll be moving to.

This has been very helpful (thanks!!), however I haven't found discussions about certain things that I'm thinking about. Just practical stuff and probably pretty funny, too for those of you who already live there.

I'm from a western country, and I don't own an abaya. Should I have one on already at the airport? In other words, should I purchase one from where I am now and put it on in the airplane?

I will live in DQ. Do I have to wear the abaya there? I've read that some don't, but what about the mutawwa?

I like jogging and going to the gym. What I've heard they have closed down many of the womens' gyms in SA, so will I be able to do weight training in DQ? What about jogging, I don't have to run around wearing the abaya, right? Will "normal" shorts and a t-shirt do? I've heard that there are sports facilities in DQ: women don't have to play tennis wearing an abaya, right?

I've seen pools in pictures of the DQ. Can I swim in them wearing a bathing suit? They probably have separated turns for men and women..?

Jeez, that's a lot of questions. :)Sorry if they are already discussed many times in this forum, but I couldn't find answers for them. I just like to know this in advance to make my packing easier and to lower my ever-growing anxiety level. I'm really excited to come there and I appreciate your help!

Preoria wrote:

...I don't own an abaya. Should I have one on already at the airport?

Hi Preoria and welcome to Expat.com,

Just a word to tell you when I arrived in KSA back in 2000, I didn't have an abaya. I think, although Riyadh is more strict than Al Khobar, if you wear a long skirt with long sleeves and no "décolleté" or pants and a blouse with long sleeves, you won't have trouble.