Tap water-> Safe?

Hi everyone,

I am new here  and this is my new post.

I just heard from a friend today that it is not safe to drink or cook from tap water in Riyadh. Is it true?  She told me to buy the big water bottles for cooking. Are these bottles safe, because there is nothing written on them.

Plenty of people use the tap water, if you are wanting it for drinking then bottled water is better in any country i have been to anyway, but, i havent heard of anyone die from drinking it. and if you are cooking you are boiling it anyway so whats the problem with that??

I use it all the time for cooking, tea, etc.

I personally use bottle water for drinking and cooking...

yazi.malik wrote:

I personally use bottle water for drinking and cooking...

So everytime you make pasta you use bottled water?

i have been using it since 1983 although i did grow horns and a tail otherwise there are no drawbacks

My friend told me that water in Riyadh contains heavy metals.

I am for the moment using tap water, but she advised me to use the big bottles of water (you need a special machine that has a tap to use them, you place the big bottle on the machine)

There are companies here in Riyadh that offers to fill your bottles for 5 Riyals each. I am just worried about which water they use to fill the bottles because nothing is written on these bottles. Anyone here has already used these bottles and knows from where they get the water?

for drinking and tea.. I use bottles.. otherwise I use tap water!

pepora wrote:

My friend told me that water in Riyadh contains heavy metals.

I am for the moment using tap water, but she advised me to use the big bottles of water (you need a special machine that has a tap to use them, you place the big bottle on the machine)