Advice on living in Vancouver

hello all.
just needed some advice on areas to possible look to rent in and areas to definately avoid in Vancouver. We may be relocating to Vancouver as my husband has been offered a job working in construction on the winter olympics sites.At the moment we haven't been told the exact area he will be working in.
Just need your help really so that we can do some research on properties in decent areas. We have a young son who is 8 months old and a dog that will be coming with us so definately need a family friendly area.If moving to Vancouver we would like to be able to live really in a safe,clean enviroment.
any advice would be appreciated. We have a rental budget of between $1500-2000 a month.Is this realistic??

thanks

HI

We are in the same situation, my hubby has been offereed a job working in construction for the winter olympics and we are strongly considering a move. We have 2 children ages 9 and 10 and a dog. I have very little knowledge of the area and dont really want to live in the city  - We are looking for a  place within travelling distance that will be a nice place to raise our kids - and safe too. We have been looking at langley - but information on the net will always paint a nicer picture than reality.
Keep posting if you find anything of interest and I will do the same - Good luck

hoping to visit vancouver someday.... hear that alot of Hong Kong people migrate there already

Hi Tanah and Leelee,

Vancouver is pretty expensive for rents. You can probably find a two bedroom apt at $1200/1500. You can try in some of the neighborhoods around the Skytrain lines like New Westminster. Surrey is pretty far but quite inexpensive.It all depends on what type of transportation you'll have.