Vietnamese American hoping to move to HMC in 2013

Hello everyone!

I guess I'll start my giving a background about myself :). I was born and raised in Vietnam until I was 10. Moved to the States (Houston, Texas) in 1995 and live here ever since. I came back in 2010 and fell in love with the country again. I've since consider moving back, but not sure if I can find work there to afford a modest life style.If you guys don't mind, I have a couple of questions for Vietnamese American like myself who went through the transition. Of course anyone is welcome to give their inputs. Thank you in advance.

1. What is the bare minimum monthly income for someone who will slightly above the local standard. I enjoy local food/drinks and the occasion night out for fun.

2. What kind of work will best fit me. I have a B.B.A. with focus on management and minor in human resources. I have 9 years of experience working as retail management (service manager/manager on duty).

3. What is the average salary for Vietnamese American English teacher (TEFL certified). I know it will be considerably less than native speaker.

4. Do you think I can survive 6 months in Vietnam with only $5,000. This is the worst case scenario if I can not find a job.

5. Most important of all, do you think I will have difficulty finding a job giving my background.

Hello ThaiTQ.

Welcome to Expat.com! :)

Hope you'll soon be guided by other members.

Thank you,
Aurélie

1.if u want a comfortable life.i think 600$/month is enough for you.but with 600$,actually u cant save to buy a house here(in case,u enjoy local food/drinks and the occasion night out for fun).600$ for renting a house,eating food,drinking at club.
2.u will be easy to find a good job here coz u had degree and 9 years of experience. I think you can apply any company.
3. if you can teach at international school or teaching engish center as ILA,Outer space language school,VUS... the lowest salary is 1000$.