New here and to the ex pat life....any and all advice much appreciated

hey all,
i am in the process of relocating to riyadh for my first ever ex pat job as an efl teacher, i have a few questions if anyone is able to help?

1: what would be the best way to bank over in KSA so that i am able to still transfer money to uk?

2. which resources for teaching would you recommend i take with me from uk to aid me in my work?

looking forward to hearing from anyone who is able to shed light to my queries

love and peace
M :):D

Hi emmvee and welcome to Expat.com!

Your thread has been moved to Riyadh forum for better visibility.;)

Hope that you'll soon be enlightened.:)

Harmonie.

emmvee wrote:

hey all,
i am in the process of relocating to riyadh for my first ever ex pat job as an efl teacher, i have a few questions if anyone is able to help?

1: what would be the best way to bank over in KSA so that i am able to still transfer money to uk?

2. which resources for teaching would you recommend i take with me from uk to aid me in my work?

love and peace

Hi and welcome,
1. Once you get you iquama you can open a bank account, company pays into your account, transfer money back home. I have a SABB account which has online banking, I recieve a text from the bank saying Salary paid, I go online and transfer. It was a bit of a chew on to set it up but its excellent now.
2. I can,t help with that sorry, but if you were teacing in the UK its fair to say you will not need to bring your Tazer here!!!!

Al

Hey ...

1) once you get your residence permit, you can open a bank account in any bank. Saudi British Bank would be best for you. No hassle in transferring money back to UK. Or you can even use Western Union. Fairly simple and easy. The best part, no income/salary tax deduction or any kind of tax deduction on any part! ;)