Want to work in Morocco

l need some help about living and working in Casablanka or Marakesh... l dont know conditions and if l can do this withour knowing French and Arabic.

Good Afternoon:

My name is Steven. I am a Chef, by trade. I, also, give "historical and cultural" day-tours in Las Vegas to tourists from around the world visiting us.

I would like to move to Morocco in the future and I will be visiting soon.

Should I begin to learn to speak French or Arabic? Can I find work in an "International Hotel Chain" as a Chef in a major city in Morocco? Perhaps, I can teach English while I learn Arabic or French there?

I would be happy to tell you all about life in Las Vegas, Nevada to "reciprocate" your answers to my questions.

Sincerely, Steven

french would be a lot easier for you to learn than arabic, furthermore in your line of work french is useful. even if you learn arabic you would never be able to understand moroccans as they speak a dialect. your best bet is checking with large hospitality companies such as the Hyat and the such. You can always teach english, but I usually tell expats wanna be to Morocco that if they don't speak French, they should not get their hopes high as far as finding jobs goes.

Hi,

I agree with shak4969, if you don't speak french, your chances are very low in getting a job in Morocco, you'll find it also very difficult to leave here if you're not speaking french or arabic, more then 85% of moroccans don't speak english.
For sure, you can teach english here, there are lots of english schools which are seeking english native speakers (Amideast for instance).

Please be free to ask any questions.

Sincerely, Safae

hey !! you have one possibilty to teach english !! u can learn arabic if u have desire but moroccan people don't speak arabic as well as they speak moroccan dailect which is hard to speak except for those who live along time there !!
feel free to ask any question !!!

Hi there.