Transfer fortnightly Aussie pension to dong

Hi all

i am currently in Vietnam and planning to stay but transfer costs at atm are crippling.

any suggestions

thanks. 😊

Hi all
i am currently in Vietnam and planning to stay but transfer costs at atm are crippling.
any suggestions
thanks. 😊
-@JohnnyChristo

Hi there JohnnyChristo. By "transfer costs", do you mean the ATM withdrawal fee? My usual ATM (Agribank) charges 22,000 VND (~$1.42 AUD) per withdrawal, with a maximum limit of 3 million VND per transaction.

For comments from members regarding ATM limits/charges, please see this recent thread.

@JohnnyChristo I have been using Wise (formerly known as TransferWise) for many years, and it is up to 7 times cheaper than traditional banks or PayPal.

I transfer my pension to my bank here in Vietnam.

You can check this link to view transfer/exchange rates. Select currencies of choice on this landing page, https://wise.prf.hn/l/3YvonNV, and change the vn in the link to determine the country you wish to transfer to/from.

@JohnnyChristo I have a friend here in Thailand who has arranged to have his Australian Aged Pension paid directly into his Bangkok Bank account every 4 weeks. Here's some info. It may help. https://www.servicesaustralia.gov.au/pa … 20account.

Plus, I agree that Agribank seems to have the lowest ATM fees per withdrawal but my Australian bank also took a healthy bite.

I use Wise now to transfer money from my Westpac account. $1000 costs me $7.50. And its here within minutes. I keep my Westpac ATM card current as a backup

Hi all
any suggestions
thanks. 😊
-@JohnnyChristo

For the sake of future casual readers on this thread, the real answer is to make sure you have your pension going into a bank in your home country that provides an ATM card that doesn't charge foreign transaction fees or exchange fees and rebates any ATM fees you are charged.

in the USA we have a few banks that do that including Charles Schwab.