Au pair position for psycholgist expat!

  • Posted 4 weeks ago
Report this offer

My name is Laurie. I'm a psychologist from the United States. My husband (Jefferson) and I are moving to the Oslo area in Jan-Feb 2017. He is a PhD-level Linguist who recently accepted a 3-year research position at the University of Oslo.

I do not have formal experience as an au pair, per se. However, I have over 15 years experience working with children and families. I have the essential skills and believe that I would truly enjoy this type of work. I have expertise in child/adolescent psychology and have worked extensively with people in all age groups (from early childhood to geriatrics). I have six nieces and nephews (ages 4-15), with whom I am extremely close and will miss deeply after moving overseas! I would welcome the opportunity to get to know other families and help care for children in Norway.

Prior relevant experience includes:

- Doctorate in clinical psychology (specializing in children/adolescents/families)

- 10 years experience as educator and healthcare provider in university and hospital settings

- 5 years experience as dance instructor for youth

- Experience developing and implementing mindfulness-based interventions in school settings

- Edited book on using acceptance- and mindfulness-based treatments with children and adolescents (published by New Harbinger in 2008)

- Expertise in child behavior problems, behavioral parent training, and parent-child interaction therapy

- 15 years experience as fun-loving and committed Auntie for my six wonderful nieces & nephews!!

Ideally, I would like to work part-time (15-30 hours/week), though this is negotiable. I prefer live-in if this could include my husband (who, by the way, is a wonderful uncle and absolutely brilliant with children of all ages!!). My husband was a school teacher for 10 years and recently completed a doctorate in Liguistics. He will be working full-time as a researcher at the University.

I have a valid driver's license in the US and plan to drive in Norway. I am happy to help out with childcare (including schoolwork and enrichment activities), laundry, light housework, cooking, and errands. I am open-minded and willing to negotiate a mutually workable agreement with the right family.

What I am looking for
  • Working time

    Full time

    Part time

  • Salary range


  • Experience


PhD, Psychology
Language(s) spoken

English (Mother tongue)


Living in Norway?

Help the other expats by sharing useful information in the expat guide

Expatriate health insurance in Oslo

Free advice and quotation service to choose an expat health insurance in Oslo

Moving to Oslo

Find tips from professionals about moving to Oslo

Travel insurance in Oslo

Enjoy a stress-free travel across Oslo

Flights to Oslo

Find the best prices for your flight tickets to Oslo