Studying in China - Severe Allergies (sesame and egg)

Hi all,

I am studying Chinese at university in the UK and I am required to study in China for a minimum of 4 months in the school year of 2022/23.

I have a severe allergy to sesame (I suffer from anaphylaxis and have been hospitalised before) and a milder egg allergy

I'm wondering how I will cope in China since they often use sesame oil to cook there food? Does student accommodation have self catering or would I have to rent somewhere privately? Are there plenty of foods in the supermarkets that I could eat? Should I completely avoid restaurants or is there anywhere that would cater for me? If I had a bad allergic reaction would the hospitals know how to deal with me? Are there any cities that would better suit me? Any general advice?

Thank you!
Lily  :)

Dear Lily,

First I have to say: I am very happy that you are considering this so early! I am a professional nurse from Austria, and I worked for some years in Shanghai. I have seen unbelievable things such as managers travelling to China without their medicines, thinking they could easily buy them locally. (No, they cannot!)

lilycauli wrote:

I'm wondering how I will cope in China since they often use sesame oil to cook there food?

You are right: Most dishes contain sesame oil for adding flavour. If you order food in a restaurant, you have to make very clear that even the rest in a pan that has not been cleaned can cause a severe reaction. So, to cook for yourself is probably the safest way.

lilycauli wrote:

Does student accommodation have self catering or would I have to rent somewhere privately?

The rooms in the dormitories of the universities have no kitchenette or so, but you can rent a fully equipped apartment for little money (if it is not in Beijing or Shanghai – these cities are expensive).

lilycauli wrote:

Are there plenty of foods in the supermarkets that I could eat?