We're making a short documentary about Berlin's rental market

Hello all,

I'm a filmmaker and photographer from London. For my end of year project in film school I am producing a stylised short documentary on Berlin's rental market. What experiences have you had trying to find a place to live in Berlin? If you are a seasoned Berliner, have you noticed any recent changes? If you are a newcomer, what are your experiences? We are looking for people from all walks of life who have a story to tell and want to share it. To find out more about the project please send either me a personal message or email [email protected].

Deutsch Below ————————

Hallo zusammen,
wir produzieren derzeit einen kurzen Dokumentarfilm über Berlin's Wohnungsmarkt.
Was hast du schon alles bei der Suche nach einem Stück Lebensraum erlebt? Bist du alteingesessener Berliner und konntest in den letzten Jahren Veränderungen wahrnehmen? Oder bist du neu in Berlin? Welche Erfahrungen hast du bisher gemacht? Wir suchen Menschen in jeder Lebenslage, die Interesse daran haben, ihre Geschichten zu teilen. Wenn du mehr erfahren willst, schreib mir gerne eine persönliche Nachricht oder sende eine E-Mail
an [email protected]

Despite the many foreigners, politicians and lobbyists flocking there, Berlin's rental market is by far not the most difficult (and expensive) in Germany. Why don't you make a movie about Hamburg, Frankfurt, Stuttgart or Munich (in this order of becoming more severe) instead?

Thanks for your reply. I'm living and studying in Berlin so I don't have the same knowledge about Frankfurt, Hamburg or any other German city. Also I've heard from a lot of people on how Berlin is changing (especially in the last few years) and wish to get people's views on that.

Yes, you're right: Berlin is changing - becoming more "normal" like the other big German cities.