Relocating to Portugal

Hello everyone!

My name is Ashley Dean and I live in the USA.  I have been dreaming of living/working abroad for many years and have decided now is the right time.  I am a certified K-6 grade teacher and have been teaching for the past 10 years in 2nd and 3rd grade.  I am looking for a job in Portugal and have hopes of moving this summer. I would love to connect with others who already live there or are planning to do so!

:) Ashley Dean

Hi Ashley
I am also planning to move to Lisbon in living in london for last 15 years hope will catch up I'm on what's app****
Thank you
IMran

Moderated by Bhavna 6 years ago
Reason : Please do not post your contact details on the forum. You should exchange them through the private messaging system.Thank you
We invite you to read the forum code of conduct
Organised Choas wrote:

Hi Ashley
I am also planning to move to Lisbon in living in london for last 15 years hope will catch up I'm on what's app *************.
Thank you
IMran

For your own safety please don't post personal details on the open Forum.

Hi Ashley,
My name is Jean-Paul (JP). I am French and have been living in Portugal under the NHR status (Non Habitual Resident) since October 2017. I am not sure whether you can benefit from that status or not, since I guess it is for Europeans.
If as an American you wish to move to Portugal and work here, I think the best way would be to contact the Portuguese Embassy in DC or any general consulate in the US.
There may be needs here for English/American teachers. However, the general trend would be for other languages because British tend to leave the country because of the Brexit. There are currently a lot of French moving to Portugal beacause of the tax advantages.
But, like in any country around the world, English remains the universal language.