Close

commuting?

Hi everyone!
If I accept a job in Thuan An Town (VSIP), I pretty much have to live up there don't I....? If I lived in one of the districts in HCMC, would the commute be awful?
I want to be around people, restaurants and some nightlife when I'm not working. Whats it like living near VSIP?
I'm a teacher so thinking of holding out for something located in a better area....

scurtis :

Hi everyone!
If I accept a job in Thuan An Town (VSIP), I pretty much have to live up there don't I....? If I lived in one of the districts in HCMC, would the commute be awful?
I want to be around people, restaurants and some nightlife when I'm not working. Whats it like living near VSIP?
I'm a teacher so thinking of holding out for something located in a better area....

A lot of local Vietnamese are commuting from HCMC to Binh Duong province to work in the factories but they would mostly be from the districts north and east of the airport like Thu Duc or Go Vap, not downtown.  The big difference between living in these outer districts and Thuan An would be that Thuan An will not slowly kill you with air pollution.   :huh:  That and you will not get run over by the traffic.  A lot depends on what you call "better."

Another big plus would be that rentals should be a lot cheaper and some form of home ownership would even be possible if you decide that you like it there.  You said "some nightlife."  Unless you insist on spending your nights (and salary) at the hippest clubs in D1, there should be plenty of places, garden cafes in particular, to hang out and have a few with friends.

Binh Duong is one of the best places, if not the best place, in Viet Nam to live if you're into farm-to-table food.  There are many growers who believe in green and clean vegetables, many co-ops where vegetables are cut on the day of your order, and no other places in the country can compare with Binh Duong for the abundance of fresh fruits.