Tax related questions

howdy folks,

I met my Filipina wife in Thailand while I was an ESL teacher and now we will soon be celebrating our 9th anniversary.    She is now a green card holder and we are in the beginning stages  of obtaining her US citizenship.   Upon returning to America I was blessed in finding a relatively high paying job and we would like to start investing in the Philippines.

There are two areas that I would like to focus on.   First, her university offers a "co-opt" in which those who has sufficient funds can contribute.   The monies that are collected are then lent out by the university who then charges interest.   After 1 year the funds are returned to the owners with the interest.      Would this be considered a unregulated "dividend" on my taxes?

The second investment area is through buying/renting farmland and growing a variety of crops through farms that my wife's family owns.    There is a huge up front charge to get started and any potential returns are down further down the road.    How would I go about reporting this on my taxes while we are still in america or is this even considered taxable income?

Our endgame is to retire in the Philippines and raise a family.

US citizens are required to report and pay taxes on their world wide income.  The interest paid on the loan would be reported as interest income, similar to if you sold your house but financed the deal and collected interest and principle on the loan, paying tax on the interest.