How to declare money at border for bank deposit?

Hi. I want to bring some USD into Vietnam from Cambodia to deposit into my USD bank account in VN. The bank in VN says I need a receipt from customs control or they won't let me deposit.

The amount is small, less than the $5000 threshhold to declare currency. Will customs at Moc Bai give me a receipt for less than $5000?

I have never done this before. What is the procedure?

Do you have to show the customs officials the money, actually take it out of your wallet and let them count it? Or just “declare” that you have it?

How long does this take? The bus driver will get impatient if he has to wait for me. They  might leave without me.

Is there a large risk that other people on the bus (or maybe the customs officials themselves) will then know that I am carrying cash and try to rob me, or maybe discreetly call a friend and describe my appearance, so that the friend can rob me upon arrival?

Thanks for any answers. Sorry if I sound paranoid.

Ask for customs declaration form (green) fill it and get signature and seal. May be they dont know the purpose so just say that to open bank account. They are too lazy to seal so should wait. With that declaration form, you can deposit a maximum of $3000 (in HSBC)

Any 'Paranoia' based on a healthy doubt of safety
and security is not excessive.  Risk is ubiquitous.

I'd be (more than) a little frightened if I was carrying
that much loose change around.

Most people are only as honest as they can afford to be.

So stay scared.     All healthy people are...        :unsure

Ha ha ,hi hi.......
This is so funny,  what a way to start Yogi's day.   

You poor bastard.   If the border guys don't confiscate ya money , the savages on the bus will probably get it.

Ha ha ha ha....failing that you'll probably get ambushed the minute you step off the fuckin bus...
Hi hi hi 😆😆😆😆😆😆

Welcome to Club med Vietscam.