Considering China: Looking for tips to overcome air quality issues

Howdy from Texas! I am a retired journalist, married to a still-employed public relations pro. We are looking for overseas opportunities within the next 1-2 years, once our youngest is settled away at college. We've zeroed in on what look like good opportunities to live and teach in China. I do have significant seasonal allergy challenges here in the states, and wondering just how badly the poor air quality across much of China might impact me. Any allergy sufferers over there who have found it to not be as bad as they thought? Or worse than imagined? Also, any remedies that seem to really help in overcoming this issue? Thanks for sharing any relevant insights and experiences! Cheers

I living in China over 5 year, have only some times problem with Honk Kong foods (from high humidity), newer other. Live 2 year on north, 2 year in middle of China and now few months on south

Knee-Howdy from Shenzhen!

Well, I am an allergy suffer as well in the US.  That said, in China, I have not suffered from the same ailments.  The pollution and smog in this region, during winter is very difficult, but so far has not caused anything of evident concern.  A mask is common in the region and I wish you all the best on your journey in China!

Master of Ed,
MARKE

Howdy  from Shunde  Foshan China....well really I should say Gday mate... as I'm an expat Aussie,,,been  her for a bloody long time..almost 16 years.... and Ive had the experience in living in many different parts of China....North South East and West....