Should we move the entire family to shanghai?

my wife and i are considering an offer to move to shanghai (she works and i am an artist/stay at home dad). the kids are 5 and 2... are we crazy for even considering this???

is shanghai family friendly?
are there good schools for 'western education'?
what parts of town should we look at?
will i go crazy as a stay at home dad... in CHINA!?!

any other related info would be great...

just a note, before we had kids we backpacked through thailand, cambodia, vietnam, loas and burma...

We've lived in Shanghai for the last 18 months, and found it to be a great place to live. I've got 2 yr old and 4 yr old girls.

There is probably 3 main areas to look at living.
- Hongqiao (west of Shanghai) is where a lot of international schools are, and have larger compounds and a big expat community (mainly British, Australia etc)

- Pudong (east of Shanghai), again a lot of international schools and large compounds for expats (mainly American)

- Jing'An, French Concession (Downtown Shanghai) There is plenty of suitable apartment complexes for expats, and this is where we are living. We chose this location so I am close to work, and since the kids are young and can go to one of the several international kindergartens in the area.

There is plenty to do in Shanghai with the kids, it's a very clean city and with so many expats you won't get too many stares from people.

It can be a very expensive city, with a good apartment costing us$4000-$6000 a month. There is a western/import supermarket chain, but again very expensive. To eat at a nice restaurant can set you back $200 or so for a couple with drinks.

I'd recommend doing a search for 'Shanghai Expat' on google, and you'll find more information and more knowledgeable people who can help you further.

Wrenchwear and Guinnes, welcome to Expat.com!
Enjoy and participate!

It seems you know the answer to some of your questions. JW