Seeking a job directly in Singapore

Hallo  :) ,

let me introduce myself,
I'm a 30yo italian IT developer with more than 10 years of experience.

I visited Singapore in June and I found the city/nation and the melting pot of the society fantastic, so I was immediately eager to have a long time experience there; also my girlfriend will soon relocate to Kedah, Malaysia for a master in an university, so my interest for South-East Asia is growing every day more. :D

I don't wanna torment you with questions that probably others made before me in this forum, but I want to have just some opinions on this topics:
- is it legal in Singapore to seek a job with a tourist visa? Or an aspiring expat needs another kind of visa? Also are 2-3 weeks for seeking/interviews too few?
- are there some chances to find a job in the IT field for a profile like mine? I've a lot fo experience and skills to put in game but I lack of an university degree and of course I'm not a local in a working field that I suppose is competitive and many singaporeans work in it.

Thanks guys,
Swanimeer

Swanimeer wrote:

is it legal in Singapore to seek a job with a tourist visa?

Yes, job search (and interviews) are allowed on a tourist visa (SVP).

Swanimeer wrote:

Also are 2-3 weeks for seeking/interviews too few?

Unless you are in a heavily sought-after niche and start contacting companies before your trip to arrange interviews, you'll need 2 - 3 months at least.

Swanimeer wrote:

are there some chances to find a job in the IT field for a profile like mine?

I don't know your speciality and skills, but there are many IT jobs in general.
You will compete with third world labour, though, mainly from India, so you will earn much less than in Europe.

Swanimeer wrote:

I lack of an university degree

Without a recognised university degree, you will have big problems getting a work visa.

Hi Beppi and thank you for the reply!
Now it's more clear for me.