Harleys in Ecuador?

Hey all, I'm a biker and could care less about a car, am wondering what type of motorcycles are available in Ecuador? Are they like the cars and way more expensive? How are the roads in Ecuador? Any info would be greatly appreciated.

Kurt......

Kurt,
I saw 1 H-D when I was in Cuenca last June. I saw a Road Glide for sale on one of the sites, and it was pretty outrageously priced. There are a lot of Royal Enfields, and alot of RE shops for sales and service. ( reasonably priced ) You can purchase Beemers. ( again, big $ ) For bigger road/touring bikes, Yamaha is the prefered scoot. Probably the most reasonably priced also. They have a ton of locally produced " scooters " in the 250 CC range. Very cheap to purchase. Don't know about reliability, but you see them at the malls for under 2 grand.
I've been riding for about 45 years, and there is no way I'd drive in the city. Totally insane. You see tons of bikes, splitting lanes, weaving in and out of traffic.... I don't know how they survive. Ton's of motor cops. Mostly Yamahas. They ride like the street scramblers. Very agile, which they have to be.

The roads in the cities are in pretty decent shape. Get out in the mountain roads and there are wash outs and rock slides to contend with. I can't see myself with out a scoot, but I know I won't be doing any in town travel on one, strictly out town riding for me. But, with that said, I hate driving in town now here stateside also. Too much texting and people not paying attention. Luckily, there is plenty of good riding roads left in Minnesota out side of the cities.
I do know that there are some touring groups you can hook up with.
Good Luck
Neil
PS. Dude, I just looked at your profile and saw we share the same birth day, although I'm sure my birth year is waaaaay sooner than yours!

ZenSPIKE wrote:

Kurt,