Hello! Looking for information about IT jobs

Hi,

I am a french engineer and I have been working in Web Development for more than 3 years for an international company and I am planning to move to Singapore.

Is there someone working in IT who could give me details about what companies are hiring there? What is the salary I could expect?

Thanks!

Unless you have specific and rare skills, you'd be competing with lots of Indian web developers, who might have more experience and are willing to work for lower wages. Don't expect to get much more than S$2000/month - and that is not enough to rent your own private place!

I see... :( Thanks for the information.

Do you think that the top French engineer schools are recognized and could be a way of getting a better position?

For all companies, you'll have to bring something valuable that others don't to justify hiring you (especially if you want more money than them). In addition, the company has to prove that they cannot find a local for the job, otherwise you won't get a visa.
French language and experience might do the trick, but probably only at French companies. Ask at the French Chamber of Commerce!

Oh, I forgot to mention:
You have to be in Singapore and give a local phone number when applying for jobs here, otherwise you'll never get a reply (companies here don't want to pay for travel to interviews).
You should be prepared (and have the money) to stay here several months and return empty-handed if your search is not successful.
Otherwise, work at home in a company with connections to Singapore and, with some luck and hard work, you might get a transfer after a few years. That's the path most Expats went.

Haha ok. This looks much more difficult than I excepted :/
Actually my girlfriend is also looking for a job there from Manila.
It might be easier for her to find first, then I will directly try to find something there.

Thank you Beppi ;)

The same I said above is true for Philippinas.